ACO – “Steven Isserlis plays Shostakovich” National Tour

7:30 pm -
Perth Concert Hall
5 St Georges Terrace
Perth, WA 6000

SAMUEL ADAMS Concerto Grosso World Premiere*
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No.1 in E-flat major
ELENA KATS-CHERNIN New Work World Premiere**
HAYDN Symphony No.104 in D major ‘London’
* Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Stanford Live
** Commissioned by Mirek Generowicz to share the dramatic story of his family's journey to Australia.

Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Steven Isserlis Cello

When Steven Isserlis and Richard Tognetti get together, you know there are going to be fireworks.

Friends for over 20 years, their concert will hold a special place in this season. Shostakovich’s monumental first cello concerto sees Isserlis at his sublime best, while Haydn’s ‘London’ symphony – arguably the pinnacle of his compositional achievement – lies at the very heart of the ACO’s repertoire.

Adding to this special program are two world premieres – one by Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin, whose colourful and expressive style makes a welcome return to the ACO, and a modern retelling of the concerto grosso by Samuel Adams, one of the most original compositional voices in the world today.

(Sally Walker, Lina Andonovska - Flute/Piccolo)

iCalGoogle Calendar

More information about ACO - "Steven Isserlis plays Shostakovich" National Tour